The Die Happy Meal

Earlier this week I was blessed by a visit from two friends, Jeff and his special lady Nicole. Jeff and I have known each other for 10 years (as of riiiiight….NOW!), I just finished another degree, it was his birthday and Nicole’s first visit to Chicago. There was a lot to celebrate. So we did. For four days in a row.

The week was full of goodness. Things like a Cubs game, burgers at Kuma’s, really delicious sushi and perhaps the absolute highlight was Jeff’s birthday dinner at a rave-fetching restaurant in the Printer’s Row section of Chicago, Custom House. Nicole did her research, decided it was the best thing to do, and she was exactly right. It was the best meal of my life, to date.

Since I’m a little compulsive about what I eat and how I enjoy it, sometimes I take notes while dining somewhere new or that has a rep. I write reviews for a website (unpaid, don’t be impressed) and I like to be thorough, plus it forces me to be detailed in my opinions and actually consider what it is that I’m doing there. Custom House was no different. I asked our server who happened to be an acquaintance of mine through a previous job, for a piece of paper to take notes. She gave me a whole pad and thus, the running commentary Custom House review was born. I think it probably speaks for itself, and apologies for my chicken scratch handwriting. I was in a rush to get back to eating.

(Click on it for a bigger view)

Leave a Reply

